Day 5: enrolment!

Disappointingly there was no freshers week – somehow replicating the carnival of joining a heap of clubs and activities you never partake in and making best friends for life you never see again is really something we need to work on with this on-line learning business….

Regardless, being hangover free from my lack of freshers entertainment I commenced the Principles of Economics: MicroEconomics course this morning.  They are wonderfully bite sized and animated – 3 to 4 minutes each with little quiz questions.  As well as the introduction I did 3 further sessions on the demand and supply curve (so not quite my estimated hour).  And as we are talking about curves my learning curve over 15 minutes went something like this:

  • “ooh, it’s 2 older American men presenting but they seem quite chatty and have a good way about them, I can go with this”
  • “I really am starting with basic concepts here, this is nice”
  • “really, but what about …..? maybe this was a mistake and it’s too basic? no, stick with it, it’s good and worthy to refresh basic concepts”
  • “right, okay, maybe I need to replay this session, I’m not quite sure I took all of that in with one go…..”

In summary, I think I am in the right place.  I have reviewed the basics of the demand and supply curve and they’ve thrown in the first thinker with Adam Smith.  The introduction was all about the importance of incentives and defining economics and why to study so that will help over the weekend as I look to the learning goals.

Simultaneously I am becoming concerned that there may be too much going on in this learning exercise – there are a whole heap of things I want to understand about this blog, not least changing images, using categroies and tags etc.  Maybe some time next week on those.  I’m hoping thought that I managed to ‘unstick’ the Day 1 post from the blog,,, here’s hoping!

Oh, that and the upcoming challenge of weekend posting #notoriouslyrubbishatweekends!

Leave a comment